Movie Review: Oz the Great and Powerful

Image
Movie Review: Oz, the Great and Powerful

I should preface this by saying that I typically love sci-fi fantasy films, even if they are remakes/prequels. Unfortunately in this case, I left the theater wishing I hadn’t dropped $13 on it.

The Good
Special Effects. Though I wasn’t crazy about the effects used to depict the land of Oz- I did like the special effects they used for the witches (particularly the flying/battle scenes).

Michelle Williams. The only STELLAR casting choice. She pretty much saved the film for me. Genuine and on-the-mark, she deserved this role and did an absolutely wonderful job.

Rachel Weisz. Sometimes you have an incredible actress who gets weighed down by terrible writing. This is certainly the case for Weisz, who did the best she could with an unbearably bad script. I could see her immense talent struggling with what I think was an under-written, uninspired and incredibly rushed story line.

The Bad
James Franco. I understand that securing a real Hollywood leading man for a role of this caliber is smart choice for a million dollar blockbuster – but I think there were MUCH better choices out there. Franco was just TOO James Franco to me. His comedy and charm did little to make up for the fact that he just wasn’t right for this role.

Mila Kunis. Worst choice for the wicked witch ever. Completely contrived acting paired with TERRIBLE writing made me so incredibly uncomfortable when she was onscreen. I kept thinking to myself man this girl is awfully pissed for only knowing this guy for half a day. Her transformation was impossible to believe, the motives completely silly and her cackle made me want to run out of the theater. Sorry Sam Raimi, you got this one wrong.

The writing. I understand it’s hard to create a nod to a spectacle like The Wizard of Oz, but this one didn’t even come close. Even millions of dollars in special effects couldn’t redeem this one.

Save your money on this one folks. Go see wicked on Broadway, or pop in your VHS copy of The Wizard of Oz and forget that this remake ever existed.

